More help, more resources, more learning.

KidsPast.com will be joining the Education.com family!

We're so excited to continue to grow and support the parents and teachers championing children's education.
Read press release
KidsKnowIt Network is now part of Education.com!

The Constitution of the United States

The Constitution of the United States

After debating the problems with the Articles of Confederation, the representatives in Philadelphia decided that rather than rewrite the articles they would instead create a new constitution that would form a new central government.

After several months of debate, and compromise, they signed the Constitution of the United States into law, creating the United States of America.

The Constitution of the United States

This new federal government was much stronger than the confederate government had been. In order to protect citizens, power was divided between three separate but equal branches of government. These branches were the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch, and the Judicial Branch. Each branch of government had checks and balances that insured that no one branch could grow too powerful.

This constitution also guaranteed certain rights to the people, helping to insure that they were treated fairly. Shortly after the constitution was signed, 10 amendments were added to it, known as the Bill of Rights, which granted even more freedoms to the people of the United States.

The Bill of Rights

This new nation was to be headed by a President rather than a monarch. This President would be elected by the legislature, which was in turn elected by the people. This type of government is known as a republic.