More help, more resources, more learning.

KidsPast.com will be joining the Education.com family!

We're so excited to continue to grow and support the parents and teachers championing children's education.
Read press release
KidsKnowIt Network is now part of Education.com!

Hominid Types

Hominid Types

Scientists such as anthropologists divide hominids into three different types based on their body shapes and lifestyles. The first type of hominids are referred to as Homo habilis, which means €˜person with abilities.’ It is believed that Homo habilis lived until about 1.5 million years ago.

Hominid Types

The second type of early human living on the Earth was Homo erectus, which means €˜person who walks upright.’ Homo erectus lived on the Earth until about 150,000 years ago.

The final type of hominid living on the Earth is Homo sapien. Homo sapien means €˜person who can think’. All humans living on the Earth today are Homo sapiens.